Make up work – Classmate Interview – Hayden Leach

IMG_0515

A fews weeks ago I had the opportunity to meet Hayden Leach. He is a 21 year old, fourth year, junior in the process of getting his bachelors in American Studies. Hayden doesn’t really know what career path he’s going to pursue at this time but somewhere along the line he wants to be a teacher. He is very much dedicated to his studies and was accepted into CSULB through a water polo scholarship. He’s been playing since high school but was only able to play for two years at Long Beach due to three different concussions. One was an elbow and the other two were a kick to the head. I was stunned to hear this because I’ve been playing football for most of my life and have never once experienced a concussion, let along three different times like Hayden. He is no longer playing water polo due to his injuries but he is coaching the sport to kids 10 and under. Hayden also got invited to move up in the ranks and coach the girls 16 and under water polo team at Long Beach Wilson. Then I found out that Hayden is from Corona Del Mar, which in my opinion is a far commute so I asked about his living conditions. Hayden informed me that he lives with five other people in a house. They all share the rent but since Hayden decided to take the garage as his room the rent is cheaper. He tells me that he’s always wanted a room in the garage, it’s kinda like their “man-cave”. Then we started conversing about our jobs. Aside from coaching water polo Hayden use to work at Tilly’s. Currently he is employed at Sports Authority in Long Beach. I asked why he quite Tilly’s and his answer made me laugh. Hayden said that Tilly’s would only give him a 20% discount off store merchandise but Sports Authority has more benefits than Tilly’s and his coaching gig put together. I thought that was pretty funny and I asked if I can get hooked up with some discounts. Hayden, being the chill guy he is, instantly gave me his phone number and told me to contact him if I ever wanted a discount at Sports Authority. In the end, I was lucky to have met someone as easy going as Hayden and I hope to carry our friendship on even after this class ends. I am glad to have made a new friend.

Leave a Reply

