Wk 6 – Classmate Interview – Eduardo Catalan Olivares

image

This week I had the chance to meet Eduardo Catalan Olivares. Eduardo is a second year like myself and he is studying mathematics. When I asked him what he would like to do with a math degree, Eduardo told me that he wants to be a teacher. I thought this was really cool because I was, at one point, also considering a teaching career. But my biggest concern was that teachers don’t get paid enough, but Eduardo told me that he wants to pursue a teaching career because that is his life ambition. Finances do not effect his decision. We also discussed where we are both from and our different cultures. Eduardo was born in Mexico and moved to the U.S. when he was five years old. He has two sisters and one brother who live with him here in Long Beach with his mom and dad. After he left Mexico at the age of five, Eduardo and his family have lived here in Long Beach. He recently got his first “official” job at McDonalds, which is coincidently my first employment place. When I asked what he meant by “official”, Eduardo told me that he use to have another job where he didn’t really get paid. That’s because it was a janitor position at his fathers dental clinic so he was just helping his dad out by cleaning. As we got deeper into our conversation we started discussing the different languages that we speak. Eduardo speaks Spanish and English fluently and he also picked up a little bit of Arabic. This amazed me and I asked if he learned from taking any classes. But Eduardo tells me that he jus went online and learned by himself. I told him how amazing that is due to the fact that learning a new language is not an easy task. I know this first hand because I tried to learn Spanish in high school but I was unsuccessful. Overall it was nice to meet someone who wants to pursue a career without looking at the financial end of things because my whole life I have been taught to pursue a career that has a greater financial outcome.

Leave a Reply

